Late Fees & Other Penalties
Late Fees & Other Penalties
Fees & Policies
A late payment fee of 10% of the past due balance (not to exceed $125 per term) will be assessed to students who have not paid or do not have sufficient financial aid or other credit to cover institutional charges.
- a student registers during pre-registration and is billed in December with a due date of January 10. If the student fails to pay by the January 10 deadline, the student will be charged a late fee on January 11.
- a graduate student is on contract and responsible for remitting the comprehensive fees with a due date of January 10. If the student fails to pay by the January 10 deadline, the student will be charged a late fee on January 11.
A hold is placed if there is a past due balance on the account. Students will not be able to view their schedules, access drop/add, access course request, or receive a transcript until payment for the past due balance is received.
Students who are dropped from classes for non-payment and have their classes reinstated will be assessed a late fee of 10% of the past due balance (not to exceed $125 per term) and a reinstatement fee of $75 .
Finance Charges will be assessed to all accounts with a past due balance. Students, however, will not be assessed finance charges unless there is a past due balance at the end of the term.
Finance Charges will be charged monthly at the rate of .75% per month (9% APY) on the past due billed balance on non-student accounts. Finance Charges will be assessed to students on any prior term past due charges. For example, a student who has a past due balance at the end of Spring semester will incur a finance charge of .75% per month on these unpaid charges after the end of Spring term.
The return of a payment (electronic or paper) issued to Virginia Tech will result in a $50.00 returned item fee being placed on the account of the student, individual, vendor or employee on whose behalf the payment was presented for each returned item, no matter the reason, as required by statute of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The amount of the returned item will also be added back to the payer's account. Please be aware that checks and online eChecks are submitted only once for payment.
A hold and late fee may also be placed on the payer's account. All related charges should be paid in person at the Bursar cashier’s window with guaranteed funds (cash, cashier's check or money order). If payment is not made in this manner, there will be a 10-day delay in removal of any holds associated with the returned item. The University may refuse to accept checks or other forms of payment from individuals who have previously had returned payments.
Any amount owed to the University including, but not limited to, tuition, fees, room, board, loans, notes receivable, and amount due for goods and services provided is considered a university receivable. A receivable becomes past due if not satisfied by the payment deadline date. At ninety days past due, the receivable becomes delinquent.
For currently enrolled students, the primary collection tool is the placement of a "HOLD" by the Office of the University Bursar on a student's record. This "HOLD" restricts certain student activities such as the ability to add or drop classes, receive grade transcripts, and registration for future academic terms. Once established, the "HOLD" remains in place until the debt is paid in full. Once a student is no longer enrolled, the collection procedures utilized for other "non-student" receivables are implemented. In addition, if you have applied for graduation and have a balance on your student account, your diploma may be held.
Appeal Your Late Fee
If you would like to appeal your late fee charge, complete the online appeal form.
All appeals must be filed by the student. Requests filed by a third party will not be considered.
The deadline for appeals is the end of the term in which the late fee occurred.